Wir gratulieren: André Domin gewinnt Wahl ins International Board of Directors des IASP

Der Vorstandsvorsitzende des Heidelberg Startup Partners e.V., Dr. André Domin, wurde bei der diesjährigen Konferenz der International Association of Science Parks and Areas of Innovation (IASP), die diese Woche in Moskau stattfand, ins International Board of Directors gewählt. Mit seinem Engagement unterstreicht er die zunehmende Relevanz internationaler Zusammenarbeit in der Startup-Unterstützung.

Wir gratulieren!

Vollständige Pressemeldung:

International Association of Science Parks and Areas of Innovation (IASP) 33rd IASP World Conference and new International Board

Skolkovo Technopark with MSU Technopark and Technopark Strogino, with the support of Moscow City Government, recently hosted the 33rd IASP World Conference in Moscow, Russia on September 19th -22nd 2016. With the theme of “The Global Mind – linking innovation communities for internationalization, sustainability and growth,” this conference deepens our understanding of how Science Parks and other Areas of Innovation can use the Global Mind —setting common goals and strengthening connectivity— for the benefit of their innovation communities (businesses, entrepreneurs, researchers and technicians) as well as for their cities and regions.

Science parks and other areas of innovation are environments where the Global Mind can flourish and develop naturally. They provide space, facilities and services especially tailored for these kinds of communities and they offer a unique way to think, connect and interact. This collaborative nature stems from strong local roots, but also provides privileged access to international networks, markets and partnerships. Dynamic links among STPs and AOIs from all over the world are essential to make the most of this international dimension. This local/global duality is one of the constitutive features of STPs and AIs.

Held in three different venues – Skolkovo Technopark, the World Trade Center and MSU Science Park, it showcased the flourishing science park and area of innovation community in Moscow, fast becoming one of the biggest tech hubs in Europe. It is the first time an IASP World Conference has taken place in Russia, recognising its growing role in the international innovation community.

The IASP World Conference is a knowledge community in action, a global gathering of 58 speakers and over 1000 delegates, including leading government, business and innovation figures from 45 countries. The past few days have demonstrated just what can be achieved when innovators and innovation managers from across the world collaborate.

Russian Prime Minster Dmitry Medvedev addressed the event’s Opening Day, praising the progress of the Skolkovo project and recognising the great value of IASP as a global network for supporting internationalisation and innovation. Deputy Prime Minister Arkady Dvorkovich also visited IASP Moscow, holding a round table event with key experts from science parks and areas of innovation around the world including IASP President Jean-François Balducchi and European Division President Jari Lauronen.

Open Innovation Marketplace

Alongside the scientific programme, 50 entrepreneurs and representatives from hi tech innovative startups based in science parks across the world presented solutions for the city of Moscow and major Russian corporations, focusing on the Smart City sectors of:

• eHealth

• Cleantech

• Industry

• Smart Society

• Technology

• Governance

• Energy

• Mobility

• Sustainable City

50 selected solutions had the opportunity to pitch their projects directly to Moscow City Government and the corporations, with 10 finalists meeting directly with potential investors.

Robotics & VR exhibition

A robotics and Virtual Reality exhibition was held alongside the World Conference at the International Trade Center on September 20th, it saw a range of cutting edge robotics companies showcase their products to science park representatives from all over the world, from 70 countries all over the world. Growing startups and SMEs found new markets and business niches and established business relations with investors and heads of major corporations.

IASP Executive Board

The IASP General Assembly was held on September 22nd, during which the election of a new President and Board was ratified.

Outgoing IASP President Jean-François Balducchi, Managing Director of Atlanpole, Nantes, France, handed over the Presidency to his successor, Josep Piqué, Executive President of La Salle Technova, Spain. Mr Balducchi began his term in 2014 at the IASP World Conference in Doha, Qatar, and led the Opening Ceremony at IASP Moscow, officiated at the General Assembly, and welcomed new IASP members during the ‘Winter Symphony’ Gala Dinner before formally handing his presidential medal to Mr Piqué during the Closing Ceremony on September 22.

Mr Piqué already has a long history with IASP, and begins his term as President following two years as Vice President.

Paul Krutko, CEO of Ann Arbor SPARK, USA, also joins the Executive Board as Vice President of IASP. Mr. Krutko is also the current President of the IASP North American Division.

Hauwa Yabani, Managing Director of Abuja Technology Village, Nigeria, and previously a member of the International Board of Directors, was also ratified as Treasurer of IASP. She takes over from outgoing Treasurer McLean Sibanda, CEO of The Innovation Hub, South Africa.

IASP International Board of Directors

New members of the International Board of Directors were also elected during the IASP General Assembly. The new Directors are:

  • Fernando Amestoy – Pando Science and Technology Park, Uruguay
  • Alexander Chernov – Skolkovo Technopark, Russia
  • André Domin – Technologiepark Heidelberg GmbH, Germany
  • Caroline Drabe – Västerås Science Park AB, Sweden
  • Jaime Parada – PIIT Parque de Investigación e Innovación Tecnológica, Mexico
  • Mozghan Yazdianpour – Isfahan Science and Technology Park, Iran


Photo, left to right:

Jaime Parada, André Domin, Jari Lauronen, Pierre Belanger, Mostafa Karimian Eghbal, Mozghan Yazdianpour, Luis Sanz, Jean-François Balducchi, Hauwa Yabani, Josep Piqué, Paul Krutko, Caroline Drabe.